Whoever Said Money Can’t Buy Happiness

12 Dec

I don’t know if money can buy lasting happiness but I strongly believe that money can buy happiness. A lot of happiness! (I can hear people scream already. I am coming to what money cannot buy.) Money at least brings you that momentary joy. It may be short-lived, it may be transient, but the point is, it makes you happy. Let’s get real!

Call me materialistic or brand me shallow but material possessions do make me happy. The more the number of zeroes, the happier I am. A new dress revives my flagging spirits, hip clothes make me happy, a new piece of furniture enlivens my living area, a trendy bag boosts my happiness quotient, a new footwear brings me joy, cosmetics and accessories make my day!I’m speaking with utmost candor and honesty here!

Now I’m not saying I need a Lexus to make me happy. I’m not saying I need that diamond-studded bridal gown to make me happy . I’m not saying if I had this this this, I’d be a happier person. I am not wallowing in self-pity whilst comparing myself to the girl-next-door. Do not misconstrue my statement. But what the hell, money makes life easier…a lot lot lot easier!

It’s a natural, deep-seated human trait to crave for more. If you have a sea-facing apartment, you pin your hopes on a sea-facing bungalow. But isn’t being satisfied being complacent?

I also know ‘true happiness’ comes from within, from forging deep human connections, from relationships, from giving, from spiritual wealth and not material wealth. But enjoying material pleasures is no sin! And is happiness not eluding the so-called happy people who condemn worldly pleasures?

I know money also buys you fake friends, pretentious relatives, flattery, stress and even problems on your way up. Even the Ambanis are battling their share of problems; even the legendary L.N Mittal might not be sleeping peacefully. Even the famed investor Warren Buffet is not a stress-free man but even the roadside beggar cannot sleep on his empty stomach, even the average middle classer worries himself to sleep! Even the slum dweller living out a meagre existence is a worried man!

I have no qualms about proclaiming that money is the much needed prescription for unhappiness and frustration. It at least resolves a huge chunk of your problems if not all your problems.

I also know… Money can buy a bed, but not sleep. Food, but not appetite. House, but not home. But I cannot imagine my life without money and the material happiness it guarantees. This happiness may be fleeting but even relationships come with an expiry date…this does not mean we snap ties with people! The human life comes with an expiry date…this does not mean we stop living! Why single out material happiness then?

The equation between happiness and money is a conundrum. I know this topic is subjective, it’s hugely debatable so let me conclude by saying money can rent happiness, but not buy happiness

2 Responses to “Whoever Said Money Can’t Buy Happiness”

  1. nick1254367 December 24, 2009 at 12:01 am #

    Hi,
    Interesting thoughts! I believe it’s not possible to make a general statement on whether money makes people more or less happy.

    Money comes with a whole set of new elements that may have good or bad impact on our happiness, and depending on how susceptible we are to every one of them, the conclusion will go one way or the other (i.e. different from person to person). I recently made an effort to provide a more comprehensive picture of what these ad- and disadvantages are. I invite you to have a
    look at Money and Happiness and tell me what you think!

    Thank you, Nick

    Like

  2. Dev December 12, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    Very true.
    Money can buy happiness but that wont be internal. It will only buy happiness that will have a sort of hangover for a while before it fades away. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

